Week 2-He is the Gift

Hi everyone!

Some of you asked me what my schedule is like at the MTC…

We get up at 6:15am, and light out at 10:30pm

Sundays:  Study time in the morning, church in the morning and afternoon, but we have breaks in between Relief Society, District Meeting, and Sacrament.  After Sacrament meeting, we have a temple walk with our zone, go to meetings with the Branch President (who’s from Taiwan) and then we have Devotional, and we can watch a film.  We are dismissed to go back to our residence halls every day at 9:30.

Mondays: P-day!!!  Temple in the mornings, then free time to write letters.  We only have an hour for emails, which is NO TIME AT ALL.  Then we do laundry, and we have to be out of our P-day clothes by dinner at 4:30.  Then we have class from 5:15 on and study time at 8:15.

Tuesdays through Saturdays are the same: Gym time, study time, class, lunch, class, dinner, study time, bed.  But Tuesday nights we have Devo at 7, and we have TRC Saturday mornings.  I hope that answers some of your questions!!

Yes, Dad I got your Dear Elder!  I also got one from Aunt Deanna, so thank y’all for that!  I also got a letter from Daniel and Amanda in that package that Grandma sent me.  When missionaries get letters and packages in the mail, it’s literally the best feeling in the world.  So keep on writing your missionaries!!  It is so important!

Dad I am so jealous you went to the Texas A&M/Ole Miss game!  110,663 people there?!?!? WOW!!!!  I wish I was there!  But I’m sure you and Rebekkah had such a fun time, even though the Aggies lost!

They haven’t shown us Meet the Mormons yet.  I hope what Elder Perkins said was true about them showing it in the MTC…I want to watch it so bad!  There is a lady in Sister Hendrick’s home ward in Draper that was in the movie.  She had a kid when she was 16, and now her son is serving a mission.  I don’t know if that was the “Single Mom” story you were telling me about?

My Mandarin is coming along really good!  I’ve been able to catch on super quick.  I’m just focused on getting the Gospel Vocabulary down right now and passing those off.  My grammar is pretty good, so I don’t have to worry about that at much!

Sister Hendricks and I Started running in the morning with Sister Sharp (China Hong Kong speaking Mandarin) and Sister Cutler (Taipei Mission).  We just feel so good every day that we do it!  We just run 2 laps around the entire MTC.  It’s awesome!  Saturday morning, we played “Mando Sister soccer” with a few of the Mandarin speaking Sisters.  It’s sad that some of them are going to Singapore and Hong Kong, I’ve grown to love them so much!  Most of us are going to Taipei though, so I’ll be seeing a lot of them!  🙂

Elder Bayn decided to go home after a week at the MTC.  It’s so sad, but I think we’ve actually became stronger and closer as a district because of it.  We all miss him, and pray that he will have the strength to return and serve the Lord.

We’ve learned that they have been having problems with the Taiwanese visas.  Taiwan changed their visa requirements, and they only allow a certain number of missionaries in at a time.  Also, if you didn’t complete 4 years of seminary, they won’t let you in at all.  A missionary from the previous transfer only did 3 years of seminary, and he had his call permanently reassigned to a stateside mission.  The missionaries that are leaving this transfer who are called to Taiwan are getting new calls this Friday to go stateside for 3 – 6 weeks.  It’s nothing like the problem with the Brazilian missionaries where they have to wait 6 -8 months.  They should be on the island before the next transfer.  I just hope that the Taiwanese Consulate gets everything all in order for the next leg of Taiwanese missionaries (us) so we can leave on December 1st.

Our district got a new teacher this week….IT WAS LUO YAN, OUR INVESTIGATOR.  He fooled us!  He really got us good, because we all believed he was really an investigator.  It was really weird having him teach us, since we’ve been giving him lessons the entire week!  But he’s great, we all really like him!

Funny Stories of the Week:

1.       During one of our bathroom breaks, Sister Oviatt, Hendricks and I were all feeling very giggly.  We were laughing at the smallest thing, and all of a sudden, Sister Hendricks and I see that Sister Oviatt’s skirt fell down!  Apparently she was adjusting it and it fell down!  She was laughing so hard that she could bring herself to pull up her skirt again, and when Sister Kirkham walked out of the bathroom, she saw all of us on the floor laughing with her companion’s skirt in the wrong place!  The best part about it was that when we all calmed down and Sister Oviatt was trying to explain to Sister Kirkham when happened with her skirt, it fell down again!  Ahh, I love them so much!

2.       And at dinner on another day, I decided to mess with Elder Davidson.  When he went to go get some milk to go along with his chocolate cake, I took his cake and hid it under the table.  Sister Hendricks and I were trying not to laugh when he came back and we tried to play it cool by “planning” what we should study during study time.  Elder Davidson sat down and didn’t notice anything for 2 minutes.  Then we just hear a big “WEI SHEN ME?!?!?!” (WHYYY?!?!?) Sister Hendricks and I DIED LAUGHING!  I gave him his cake back, don’t worry!  🙂

We had a great lesson in Relief Society.  Sister Sharon L. Eubank was our speaker.  She taught that attending the temple is so important!  Just like traffic school is a place where we can learn the law of the road and how to drive better so we can keep our license, the temple is a school; where we can learn the laws of Heavenly Father’s kingdom and keep our temple recommend!  When the primary song “I am a Child of God” came out in 1972, the last part of the song was originally “Teach me all that I must KNOW,” but President Kimball had them change it to “Teach me all that I must DO.” Faith requires action!  And one of the most important thing you can do is go to the temple as often as you can!  MTC missionaries get to go every week on P-days, and it is such a blessing!

Devotional on Sunday was awesome!!  D. Greg Droubay spoke, and he’s Director of Technology or something for the church.  He showed us the video the church came out on Easter “Because of Him.” It was so good!  But was even better, is he showed us a rough cut of the new video that the church is releasing the day after Thanksgiving, called “He is the Gift.” He had to get special permission from the Twelve to show it to us yesterday.  I can’t wait for y’all to see it!  I was only the rough cut, but wow, it’s so amazing.  Brother Droubay emphasized how much technology has been able to bring people to the church.  I love when he said that the internet helps people “bump” into the gospel, with Mormon.org and all of the ads on Google, and the Mormon.org Facebook page.  Tell all of your friends to go “like” the Facebook page!  It helps the missionaries get referrals!

My scriptures of the Week:

Doctrine and Covenants 84:85 and Matthew 10:19-20.

These scriptures remind me that the best way to teach is by the spirit, and that what we teach will come out of our mouths at the very hour it is needed if we just put our trust in the Lord!

I hope y’all have a wonderful week!  I love you!!

Love,

Sister Good

Sister Kirkam, Sister Oviatt, Sister Hendricks, Sister Good

Sister Kirkam, Sister Oviatt, Sister Hendricks, Sister Good

Sister Hendricks and me!!!

Sister Hendricks and me!!!

Roomies!

Roomies!

Elder Bayn's last day!

Elder Bayn’s last day!

Temple Walk!

Temple Walk!

All of the Mando sisters in our Zone! (From Left to right, Top to bottom)... Sister Oviatt, Sister Kirkham, (Taipei), Sister Baird (Singapore), Sister Tate, Sister Giles (Taipei), Sister Tui'one, Sister Kitchen (Singapore), Sister Hendricks, me (Taipei), Sister Sharp (Hong Kong) and Sister Cutler (Taipei).

All of the Mando sisters in our Zone! (From Left to right, Top to bottom)…
Sister Oviatt, Sister Kirkham, (Taipei), Sister Baird (Singapore), Sister Tate, Sister Giles (Taipei), Sister Tui’one, Sister Kitchen (Singapore), Sister Hendricks, me (Taipei), Sister Sharp (Hong Kong) and Sister Cutler (Taipei).

I love our district! (From left to right) Sister Oviatt, Sister Kirkham, Sister Hendricks, Sister Good, Elder Spencer, Elder Tan, Elder Davidson, Elder Mertz

I love our district!
(From left to right) Sister Oviatt, Sister Kirkham, Sister Hendricks, Sister Good, Elder Spencer, Elder Tan, Elder Davidson, Elder Mertz

Crazies!!

Crazies!!

Leave a Reply

