Week 5-Singapore District Leaves!

Hello Everyone!

This week was just a normal week at the MTC, but a lot still happened!  Sister Hendricks and I got assigned to be the Sister Training Leaders!  (Sister equivalent to Zone Leaders).  We have so much responsibility now.  We just have to make sure all of the sisters in our zone are following the rules, among other things.  But a really cool thing that comes with being a Sister Training Leader, is that we get to carry around a cell phone!  It’s just a flip phone though, and we can only call the front desk of the MTC, but it’s still cool to be carrying around a cell phone.  I now have authority!

Sunday was testimony meeting.  It was such a cool experience.  Most everyone in our zone bore their testimonies, and all in Mandarin.  It’s amazing to me how much Mandarin we know now.  But it was also super sad yesterday because we had to say goodbye to our Singapore district.  They were so much fun to be with, and it was so sad to let them go!  Good thing they’re all from Utah because we’re planning on keeping in touch and reuniting after our missions.  But that won’t be for another two years…it’s going to be so worth it though!

Sister Wendy Nelson, (Russell M. Nelson’s wife) spoke at devotional yesterday!  She mentioned her husband’s talk in the Oct 2012 General Conference where he said something along the lines of if you don’t know an answer to some questions about the church, ask the missionaries.  That puts so much pressure on us!  We really have to be ready to give a good answer every time someone asks us a question!  But along with studying the scriptures and other resources, I know we have the authority to answer these questions.  You wonder why all these 18 and 19 year olds can do this great work?  We were all set apart by a Melchizedek priesthood holder and that gives us the authority to teach with the power of the Holy Ghost.  That’s so cool!

One of my favorite parts about devotionals is how excited the missionaries get when they announce what we’re singing for the prelude hymns, and for the opening, intermediate, and closing hymns.  Whenever each song is announced, all 2,000 missionaries in the auditorium get so excited and you just hear an echo of missionaries whispering “Yes!!” throughout the auditorium.  We get so into singing the hymns too.  I’ll look over and a few elders will be closing their eyes…belting out as reverently as they can, the lyrics to “Abide With Me, ‘Tis Eventide” or another flipping awesome hymn.  I just love the MTC.

Funny Stories of the Week:

  1. There is this joke that the Mandos have going around called san shi san(san shi san (三十三) = 33 in Mandarin).  On page 33 in the Missionary Handbook, it talks about how missionaries can’t flirt with the opposite gender.  Anytime missionaries flirt with each other everyone just yells “SAN SHI SAN!” (三十三)  Anyway, we always see this one sister flirting with a different elder during lunch and dinner every single day.  So we gave her the nickname san shi san.(三十三)  Sister Hendricks, Kirkham and I really wanted to take a selfie and try to get her in the background, and we succeeded!  It was so awkward taking the picture because we just walked up and snapped a selfie.  But we didn’t care.  When we looked at the picture, we saw that she was looking at us!  And a group of elders next to her photobombed us hardcore.  Best selfie ever.
  2. Elder Tan ripped a book the size of a phone book in half.  That was so legit.  I got it on video, so I’ll try to post it, but I’m not sure how it’s going to turn out.
  3. We were Google street viewing the Taipei temple with a few elders from the other zone, when we found two missionaries on one of the corners of the temple/mission home!  They were smiling and looking at the camera, and they had they’re pass along cards sticking our from their front shirt pocket, and they were wearing bicycle helmets and everything!  We are so excited to get to Taiwan!  And in case anyone is curious, there are either 17 or 18 missionaries going to Taipei the same day I am.  All reported on October 1st🙂

Every Sunday night after devotional, they have a few films we can choose from to go watch before we have to go back to the Sushe (宿舍residence).  They play some movies in different languages every week, and they played “Testaments” (the movie about Christ visiting the Americas in 3 Nephi) in Mandarin.  Both Mando zones were watching the movie, and in the beginning of the movie, there was a time lapse to “33 years in the future” and no surprise, all of the Mandos busted out laughing and whispering “san shi san (三十三)!”   But it was quite the san shi san (三十三) movie.  Lots of flirtation, and two kissing scenes.  I’m sure y’all can just imagine how fun it is to watch movies scenes like that with a room full of MTC missionaries!

Scripture of the Week:  Ezekiel 37:15-17

Proof in the Bible that the Book of Mormon is true!  The stick of Judah represents the Bible and the stick of Joseph represents the Book of Mormon.  I love this so much!  In v. 17 it says “join them one to another into one stick; and they shall become one in thine hand”.  We are so lucky to live in the time of the restored gospel!  We have the joined stick!  It’s the Quad combination!  Love it!!!

I love you all, please continue to send me letters!  I love reading about what’s going on in your lives!

Sister Hendricks and me with awesome Elders going to Tokyo!

Sister Hendricks and me with awesome Elders going to Tokyo!

Elder Tan got sent a lollipop with a scorpion in it!

Elder Tan got sent a lollipop with a scorpion in it!

Kiana, I mean Sister Tibas, reported this past Wednesday!  She leaves for Tucson, Arizona next Monday! :(

Kiana, I mean Sister Tibas, reported this past Wednesday! She leaves for Tucson, Arizona next Monday! 😦

Kiana, I mean Sister Tibas, reported this past Wednesday!  She leaves for Tucson, Arizona next Monday! :(

Kiana, I mean Sister Tibas, reported this past Wednesday! She leaves for Tucson, Arizona next Monday! 😦

Disregard my face, I was trying to get san shi san (三十三) in the picture when our Zone Leaders (who left for Singapore today) photobombed me!

Disregard my face, I was trying to get san shi san (三十三) in the picture when our Zone Leaders (who left for Singapore today) photobombed me!

THE GOLDEN PICTURE. San shi san (三十三) is the sister with the maroon scarf...and those elders who photobombed us hardcore to the right.

THE GOLDEN PICTURE. San shi san (三十三) is the sister with the maroon scarf…and those elders who photobombed us hardcore to the right.

Quad sister wall sit!

Quad sister wall sit!

Quad sister wall sit!

Quad sister wall sit!

Sister Training Leader!  I HAVE A CELL PHONE!

Sister Training Leader! I HAVE A CELL PHONE!

Ran into Sister Tibas on the way to the temple!

Ran into Sister Tibas on the way to the temple!

Temple walk!

Temple walk!

Literally my favorite Sisters in the world!  Sister Baird, Kitchen, and Tui'one left for Singapore today! :(

Literally my favorite Sisters in the world! Sister Baird, Kitchen, and Tui’one left for Singapore today! 😦

Sister Hendricks and I with our Branch President, President Teng.

Sister Hendricks and I with our Branch President, President Teng.

Something is always wrong with Sister Oviatt.

Something is always wrong with Sister Oviatt.

Ran into Kurtis!  He just got back from Taipei 7 months ago! He ate dinner with us (by us I mean the newly called Zone Leaders and Sister Training Leaders, all going to Taipei) and told us all about the mission.  We were in the cafeteria for about and hour and a half talking about the mission and listening to funny stories, whoops!

Ran into Kurtis! He just got back from Taipei 7 months ago! He ate dinner with us (by us I mean the newly called Zone Leaders and Sister Training Leaders, all going to Taipei) and told us all about the mission. We were in the cafeteria for about and hour and a half talking about the mission and listening to funny stories, whoops!

Sunday Night Devotional!

Sunday Night Devotional!

Sunday Night Devotional!

Sunday Night Devotional!

My favorite Singapore Elders!  Elder Sabin and Elder Brown

My favorite Singapore Elders! Elder Sabin and Elder Brown

Sister Hendricks and me with Elder Clark and Elder Eggertson

Sister Hendricks and me with Elder Clark and Elder Eggertson

Sister Kirkham and I found some mustaches.

Sister Kirkham and I found some mustaches.

Dinner!

Dinner!

I have no comment on this photo

I have no comment on this photo

Leave a Reply

