Devotionals on Devotionals on Devotionals!!

Hello everyone!

We’re having an apostle speak tomorrow!!!  I got the dates wrong, I thought I would be last week, but it’s gonna be this week!  I know they broadcast it to all the 15 MTCs around the world, but I’m not sure if it will be to the general public.  But if you can find it, find it, and look for me in the choir!

By the way, I ran into Ross DeFranco yesterday after Devo!  I didn’t have my camera with me, so I don’t have a picture with him!  But it was so nice to see someone from Sugar Land.  Y’all, I miss Sugar Land.  And the great country of Texas.

This week, Sister Hendricks and I committed two of our progressing “investigators” to baptism!  We’re getting pretty good at not using a script when teaching lessons now.  We just come up with a few topics we can talk about and a few scriptures to share, and basically just follow the Spirit.  This way, we can adjust our lessons to meet our mudaoyou’s (investigator’s) needs.  It’s still important to plan, but sometimes the Spirit gives us a prompting to throw our jihua (plan) out the window.  We can plan the best lesson ever, but even if we give a rockin’ lesson, ain’t nobody’s going to be converted unless the Spirit is present.  The Holy Ghost does the converting, not the missionaries!

TRC this Saturday we pretty cool!  At first Sister Hendricks and I are kinda freaking out, but we found a holy grail when it comes to teaching chengyuans (members of the church).  Since they already know about the Restoration, and about Joseph Smith, and all of the lessons we’ve been practicing for mudaoyous, we realized that there are Christlike attributes that everyone needs to work on.  So that was our focus, strengthening your Christlike Attributes.  We taught our first 40 minute lesson to Zhong JieMei.  She’s from Taichung, and served in Taipei.  Mostly in the city, Hualien, and TaoYuan.  But she was great!  We had an amazing lesson.  Afterwards she took a selfie with us and said she was going to send it to President Day.  Whooo!

We had a lot of free time yesterday, so me and Sister Hendricks just hung out with Elder Tan and Elder Mertz, and we watched all of these Mormon Messages and had a popcorn fight…the jiaoshi (classroom) was a mess, so we cleaned it up.  It was so worth it.  Then some Elders from the other zone came in and hung out with us.  There was Elder Matua, Elder Brinton (Taipei) and Elder Andersen and Elder Padilla (Australia Melbourne, mando).  We started telling each other our life stories, it was a good time.  It’s great to have all of this free time on Sundays, because we are just worn out every day by our schedules.  Arise, breakfast, gym, study, lunch, class, dinner, class, study, bedtime.  It was nice to let out some steam!

We got to attend 3 devotionals this week!  We went to the BYU devotional at the Marriott Center on Tuesday.  The topic was on tenacity.  I left my gospel insights journal in the jiaoshi, so I can’t share my insights with you this week, sorry!  But the speaker, who is a member of the Seventy, is the one that messed up on his prayer in General Conference this past October and prayed that we could have our “strength faithened” instead of our faith strengthened.  He made a pretty funny joke about it!

Then we had two other members of the Seventy speak to us, Elder Golden from South Africa, he was great, and Elder Condie, who was just WOW.  I love when they acknowledge all of the different countries everyone is serving in.  Elder Condie asked where the Japanese speakers are and they would say “Konichiwa!” then he would try to say something in Japanese, and he did it for the Finnish missionaries, the Swedish, the German, the Russian, the Portuguese, the Spanish, then when he got to the Mandarin speakers we all waved and said “Ni hao!” and he said “I know the word for emphysema!”  And something came out of his mouth, apparently the mandarin word for emphysema.  It was great!

After that devotional, our district, along with a district in the other mando zone watched a devotional given by Elder Jeffrey R. Holland in the MTC around 2006, called “Missions Are Forever”.  It was so powerful.  I wish I had my Gospel Insights journal with me right now because I was just taking notes the whole time and I want to share them with y’all!  But I remember a poem he shared regarding trusting in the Lord with all your heart:

“Come to the edge”, he said.

“No, we’ll fall!”

“Come to the edge,” he said.

“No.  We will fall.”

“Come to the edge.” he said.

So we came to the edge.  He pushed us.  We flew.

You can just tell that he is an apostle of the Lord.  Amazing.

Scriptures of the Week: 2 Peter 1: 5-8, and Moroni 7:47-48

So, since I got called as a Sister Training Leader, I figured I would work on having Charity towards everyone in my zone.  I am an example to these missionaries now, and they need to know how much a truly love them and care for them!

I encourage y’all to find out which Christ-like Attribute you need to work on, even though I worked in Charity this week, I know I have to continue to work on patience.  There is always room for improvement!  I invite y’all to ponder on the scripture in 2 Peter, and how you are able to improve!

Branch 39 J  Headed to Singapore, Birmingham England, and Taichung.  Then there's our district who's all headed to Taipei.

Branch 39 J Headed to Singapore, Birmingham England, and Taichung. Then there’s our district who’s all headed to Taipei.

The beautiful letter I received from Lance.  "Moist yet crusty ointment."  Thanks, Lance!

The beautiful letter I received from Lance. “Moist yet crusty ointment.” Thanks, Lance!

Laundry room:)  Whoot!  I LOVE WEARING PANTS.

Laundry room:) Whoot! I LOVE WEARING PANTS.

image004

Because I literally didn't take any pictures this week, I decided to pose on top of the washers.  Then I realized the yellow sign says..."Thank you for not sitting on the washers".  Whoops!  Too late!  J

Because I literally didn’t take any pictures this week, I decided to pose on top of the washers. Then I realized the yellow sign says…”Thank you for not sitting on the washers”. Whoops! Too late! J

So, Jacob Khalil was singing in the BYU a capella choir at the devotional!  I saw his face!!!!  J

So, Jacob Khalil was singing in the BYU a capella choir at the devotional! I saw his face!!!! J

So, I stole these photos from Sister Oviatt.  Taken on our walk back to the MTC from the Marriott Center!

So, I stole these photos from Sister Oviatt. Taken on our walk back to the MTC from the Marriott Center!

image008

image009

Leave a Reply

