Week 19- Sicknesses are going around…

Hey y’all!
We were in ward council yesterday and Bishop commended us and the Elders for last week’s work…we were the only missionaries in the entire stake (Fountain Stake) to reach our goal of 20 lessons! Good thing we rocked it last week, because this week’s stats sucked.
The G-Squad (our tripanionship) were sick for the most part of the week. Fevers, sore throats, and headaches all around! So we were stuck in the apartment for the good part of about 4 days. But thank goodness I was feeling well enough yesterday…Elder Alpaugh and I had to give talks in sacrament meeting! We were so worried that we would give super short 5 minutes talks, but they both ended up being a good 20 minutes each…whoops:) It went really well! I gave my talk on Elder Richard G. Scott’s “Agency and Answers: Receiving Revelation” from 1989. Elder Scott talks about 3 ways how we can receive answers to our prayers. It’s AWESOME. I most certainly encourage all y’all to read it! So that was an awesome part of Sunday…the not so awesome part of Sunday was one of our investigators, Jerry, was so excited to come to church today, and the Rodger’s family even offered to swing by his place and pick him up! BUT ALAS, HE WAS NOT HOME. It totally breaks my heart when we have awesome lessons and we have so much hope that they will show up to church, but when they don’t keep their commitments…just AGHHH. I really hope he comes to church one of these days.
Speaking of the Rodger’s family, they are definitely THAT family who I will keep in contact with throughout and even after the mission! We went over to their house last night for dinner because our dinner appointment cancelled on us, and we ended up staying there for 4 hours, just talking, and laughing, and having a blast. Then we went over The Restoration lesson with them, and Sister Glew recited the First Vision in English, then me in Chinese, then Storm (their oldest son, got back from his mission in Mexico a few months ago) in Spanish, and Brother Rodgers in Portuguese (served a mission in Brazil). It’s amazing how the spirit carries through, even if we can’t understand each other. The spirit is also the reason that people actually listen to us 18, 19, and 20 year-olds. Gah I love how the spirit works!!
So that’s all for this week, keep praying for those Taiwan visas please! Oh and that our investigators will keep those commitments!
Sister Glew and I at PacSun waiting for Sister Griffiths to be done shopping so we could go chill with the other missionaries. I'm wearing a catburger hat, and her hat has Donald Duck on it. We are adorable.

Sister Glew and I at PacSun waiting for Sister Griffiths to be done shopping so we could go chill with the other missionaries. I’m wearing a catburger hat, and her hat has Donald Duck on it. We are adorable.

Yeah...I just had to...#HarryPotterNerd

Yeah…I just had to…#HarryPotterNerd

Sister Glew took a picture of me sleeping...actually she took a picture of my hair haha

Sister Glew took a picture of me sleeping…actually she took a picture of my hair haha

Leave a Reply

