Week 20 – WE GOT OUR VISAS!!!

HELLO ALL,

On Friday night, we got a text from President Rehm saying that our visas had been approved!  WHOO HOOO!!!  Sister Glew was so funny, her face dropped when I read the message to her and didn’t believe me at first because I always prank her when I get a letter in the mail and I tell her it’s from Salt Lake and that they received my visa (It’s not a complete lie, those letters really are from Salt Lake…they’re from Grandma hahaaaaa).  But you can imagine I was bouncing off the walls and screaming because I was soooo excited!  Then this morning, before emails, President Rehm sent us a text saying that our visas ARE approved, President Day has not received notification yet, and we are planning on traveling on Feb. 25th.  So I checked President Rehm’s email to all of us here in the Colorado Springs Mission, and it said:

Dear Elders and Sisters

We received word this week that the visas have been approved for our Taiwan visa waiters.  They will fly to Taiwan the day after transfers.  We also received word that Elder Dorius has recuperated from his procedure and will meet the other visa waiters in Taiwan.  These missionaries have been a great addition to our mission.  When they arrived on Dec. 19, we never expected them to be here so long.  After 68 days in the Colorado Colorado Springs Mission, they will be off to Taiwan.  Please wish them well when you see them.

Okay, awesome!  Our visas are here!  Then I check President Day’s email:

WE HAVE VISAS!!!!

For those who have not yet heard, Taiwan’s Bureau of Consular Affairs has issued 10 visas for our visa-waiting missionaries.  On February 25, we anticipate welcoming the following missionaries to our mission:

Sister Wing Kei Dindi Chan

Sister Natalie Tate

Sister Zoe Hendricks

Sister Kess Kirkham

Sister Karisa Lindsay

Sister Annie Oviatt

Elder Adam Pack

Elder Andrew Sessions

Elder Spencer Smith

Elder Dexter Tan

Continue to pray that the other visa-waiting missionaries will get their visas granted before Guonian (Chinese New Year’s).  While these 10 coming in are a welcomed blessing, we still have 15 going home, which means unless some additional missionaries arrive,  our missionary may still have to close or consolidate 3 more proselyting areas this coming transfer.

Don’t stop praying for our visa-waiters.

I’m just confused on how President Day hasn’t received notification that the 10 visa waiters in Colorado also got our visas.  Weird.  And I got a hecka ton of emails today from some of the visa waiters listed above, as well as some missionaries already in Taiwan saying “I’m so sorry you haven’t received your visa…we are praying for you!” And I had to tell them that I DO have my visa!  SOMEONE TELL PRESIDENT DAY WE ARE COMING!!!

From David:  I have been in contact with the Colorado Springs Mission Office and they have confirmed that Tiffany does have her visa.  She will be leaving on February 24th, and arriving in Taiwan on February 25th.

As for the work here in Colorado Springs…we had a lesson with an investigator, Jerry.  He’s been severely depressed because his wife passed away almost two years ago.  He was extra depressed this week because it was Valentine’s Day, and her birthday is a couple days after (today, actually).  Poor guy.  We have been emphasizing the Holy Ghost with him, telling him that it is the Comforter (John 14:26-27).  We asked him a couple weeks ago to be baptized and he was unsure, saying that he wanted to attend a baptism first.  SO WE DRAGGED HIM TO ONE ON SATURDAY.  He loved it!  He described that everyone looked so at peace, and he could really feel a warm feeling in his heart.  We told him that was the Holy Ghost that he felt!  Later that day, we had a lesson with him about the Gospel of Jesus Christ and we talked a lot of about faith and baptism.  He accepted our invitation and has a date for April 11th!  (Lowkey, I wanted him to be baptized this week so I could be there, but no.) And he attended ALL 3 hours of church, and we introduced him to so many people, and everyone was so nice, and he participated in Gospel Principles and I am just so excited to get him baptized!  Now we just need to find him a new wife!

Next week will be my last P-day in Colorado Springs (watch they’re going to tell us “LOL JK we don’t have your visas” THAT BETTER NOT HAPPEN).  But regardless, there is so much work to be done here, in Taiwan, and just EVERYWHERE.  Just because you don’t have a nametag, does NOT mean that you are not a missionary!  Do whatever you can to invite others to come unto Christ!

image001

There are actually quite a few Mormons in Colorado...

There are actually quite a few Mormons in Colorado…

Valentine’s Day!

Valentine’s Day!

The Rodger’s attacked our door for Valentine’s...I LOVE THEM SO MUCH.

The Rodger’s attacked our door for Valentine’s…I LOVE THEM SO MUCH.

image006

LOOK.  I FOUND CINNAMON AND LONDON!!  They ran away from home and found me because they miss me too much!  Hahahaaaa

LOOK. I FOUND CINNAMON AND LONDON!! They ran away from home and found me because they miss me too much! Hahahaaaa

  Sister Faamusili!  She is literally one of the funniest people I have ever met!


Sister Faamusili! She is literally one of the funniest people I have ever met!

image009

Sister Grow and me!

Sister Grow and me!

Three generations!  Sister Hall (my grandma) Sister Glew (my mama) and me!  [For those of you that don’t know...your ‘parent’ on the mission is whoever trained you.  Sister Glew is training me, and Sister Hall trained Sister Glew]

Three generations! Sister Hall (my grandma) Sister Glew (my mama) and me! [For those of you that don’t know…your ‘parent’ on the mission is whoever trained you. Sister Glew is training me, and Sister Hall trained Sister Glew]

image014

Our Elders after dinner yesterday...

Our Elders after dinner yesterday…

Leave a Reply

