Week 23 – Second Week in Taidong

Hey Y’all!

There were so many miracles this week!  Yesterday, we were riding our bikes, and we started riding next to this one guy who was riding in the same direction as us.  We asked if he wanted to hear about our glad message about Jesus Christ, and he agreed to meet with us half an hour later at the church.  AND GUESS WHAT.  HE ACTUALLY SHOWED UP.  Miracle!  We handed him over to Taidong 2nd Elders because he lives in their branch though.  But it’s all good, we are all on Team Jesus!

We had Hotpot with the Elders today and we were discussing how important who we email every week.  Elder Boyd described it as a full course meal.  First, the most important, is we need to email President.  He represents the medicine that we need to take before we eat before we eat…haha.  The main course is our families, because they NEED to know how we are doing.  Friends are the side dishes, they’re nice to email once in a while, but they are not completely necessary to email.  And lastly, our potential future husbands/wives are the Manguo Chuabing (Mango Ice…the most popular dessert on the island).  So we were discussing who our “Manguo Chuabings” were hahaa.

I am starting to adjust to Taiwan…but it’ll be a while before I’m completely comfortable here!  I still think to myself everyday that I can’t wait to go home, but I know this phase will pass.  I read in this month’s Liahona this morning during personal study this morning on President Uchtdorf’s visiting teaching message.  It was about patience.  He said:

“Patience means accepting that which cannot be changed and facing it with courage, grace, and faith.  It means being ‘willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon [us], even as a child doth submit to his father’ [Mosiah 3:19].  Ultimately, patience means being ‘firm and steadfast, and immovable in keeping the commandments of the Lord’ [1 Nephi 2:10] every hour of every day, even when it is hard to do so.”

I LOVE UCHTDORF!  I really needed to hear that!  The Lord called me to this mission because he knows that it is the best for me, and he seeth it fit.  I have to stand steadfast and immovable in what I do while serving!  I also realized that I can’t just think about myself while I’m out here.  I can’t think about the pain in my thighs from riding a bike everywhere, of the sweat that drips down my face in this hot weather, or the sadness I feel when I get rejected during a street contact, or a door approach.  I thought to myself this week “I am literally dying!” But I’m am not physically dying as much as that one person who is waiting for me to teach them is spiritually dying.  Missionary work is not easy because salvation does not come easy!

I love you all!  I am almost down to my 6 month mark on the mission!  Time is flying by so fast!!!

We found chickens!

We found chickens!

For service, we pulled weeds out of a sweet potato field!

For service, we pulled weeds out of a sweet potato field!

image004

A "Book Sterilizer" at the local library....

A “Book Sterilizer” at the local library….

Waffle Burger!

Waffle Burger!

A BOWL WITH FISH TOFU, BAIYE TOFU, AND BEEF. THE DREAM

A BOWL WITH FISH TOFU, BAIYE TOFU, AND BEEF. THE DREAM

image008

Chen Ling got baptized!

Chen Ling got baptized!

image010

It was Sister Oviatt's and my 6-month anniversary on March 7th  (We met for the first time on September 7th when we went to the BYU @ UT football game in Austin)

It was Sister Oviatt’s and my 6-month anniversary on March 7th (We met for the first time on September 7th when we went to the BYU @ UT football game in Austin)

Hotpot with our Elders!  Elder Mayhew/Taupela (Taidong 2nd branch, ZLs) and Elder Tang/Boyd (Taidong 1st branch,)

Hotpot with our Elders! Elder Mayhew/Taupela (Taidong 2nd branch, ZLs) and Elder Tang/Boyd (Taidong 1st branch,)

image013

Leave a Reply

