Week 25 – Views of Taidong and Hualien

Hey Y’all!

This week went by so fast!  I can’t believe it’s already Pday!  Last Pday, after emails, we had lunch at our District President’s house…or should I say crib…President Tsai is an architect so his house is GORGEOUS.  He’s also in the Taidong 1st branch, which is where I’m serving!  See below for pictures!

We went on exchanges this week!  I went up to Hualien for the day and exchanges with Sister Knight, my Sister Training Leader.  It was super fun!  And Hualien is so beautiful!  I love the east coast!

The language isn’t easy…yes I can understand a lot, but then there are times when I’m like “What that Mandarin they were speaking?” haha.  And I ask everyone where they think I am from, and they say “meiguo, yinwei ni you kouying” (美國, 因為妳有口音)  ahaha.  I always ask people where they think I’m from and they’re always yi ban yi ban (一半一半)…half guess that I’m part Taiwanese, and the other half are completely surprised when they find out that I’m half Taiwanese.

Here’s my letter to President Day:

Dear President Day,

Our 14 year-old investigator, Wanlu, got baptized on Saturday!  When I first met her, she didn’t have the desire to be baptized at all, but the Holy Ghost recently truly testified to her that what we said was true.  After she was baptized and before going up to the podium to bear her testimony, she gave me and Sister Huang huge hugs and said “Thank you so much for teaching me the truth and being with me every step of the way.” The light of Christ that was shining so brightly in her eyes truly testifies to me that all of the blood sweat and tears that comes with being a missionary is so worth it!

 

Before her baptism, the branch held a potluck, and the turnout was great!  The members brought their friends and we ate a lot of really yummy food.  What’s crazy is because of the potluck, there were more people at Wanlu’s baptism than there are usually at sacrament meeting!  It made me realize how great it is to plan a social event before a baptism, because normally everyone stays for the baptism afterwards and that way your investigator gets introduced to the ward better!

Thank you so much for everything you do, President Day!  It’s so great to hear that more visa waiters are coming in!  It’ll be so good to see them again!  OH AND I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU TOMORROW!

Love you!

– Sister Good

By the way, I created my Mission Facebook account, so my personal account had to be shut down.  But I’ll be able to restore it completely after the mission, no worries!

To create my mission Facebook, I had to log into my personal Facebook. It was literally so hard to no click on my notifications….and I saw a couple of y’all’s profile pictures, and wow…it was SO HARD not to click on them to see how everyone was doing!

[From Dad:  Currently her old FB is used to auto- update her Mission blog.  I’ll check to see how that will be updated as we move forward.]

I love y’all so much!  Always keep God first in your lives!  3 Nephi 13:31-33 ❤

  1. Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?

32     For your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.

33     But seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you.

The view from our District President's house!  (Taidong is in the background)

The view from our District President’s house! (Taidong is in the background)

image002

image003

image004

Their house is GORGEOUS!

Their house is GORGEOUS!

image006

image007

On the train on the way to Hualien!

On the train on the way to Hualien!

image010

I remember eating this ice cream in Taiwan when I was little!

I remember eating this ice cream in Taiwan when I was little!

Our Branch's little potluck!

Our Branch’s little potluck!

We went street contacting last night and talked to these ladies from Hong Kong. They really wanted to take a picture with us haha:

We went street contacting last night and talked to these ladies from Hong Kong. They really wanted to take a picture with us haha:

Huang Jiemei and I were bored while waiting on our dumplings...

Huang Jiemei and I were bored while waiting on our dumplings…

Wanlu! <3

Wanlu! ❤

Leave a Reply

