Week 28 ? General Conference!

Hey y’all!

We finally got to watch General Conference this week!  I received so much personal revelation, I can’t even describe it!  I loved President Eyring’s talk about the fast.  I didn’t realize that fasting can help us to resist temptation.  It makes so much sense, but I never thought about it that way before!  I can’t believe they are building a temple in Thailand!  I got a lot of emails from my missionary friends in Thailand saying how it’s going to be a party in Thailand haha.

I also LOVED Elder Holland’s talk about Christ’s Atonement and how he used the story of Jimmy and John.  AMAZING!  I wrote a lot of my thoughts down in my study journal, and I wish I could share more of what I got from General Conference, but we don’t have much time today so I’m sorry!  But I will say that I do remember when I thought GC was super boring to watch, but ever since being on my mission, I get just as excited to watch General Conference as I am to watch the Super Bowl!

I don’t think I mentioned that one of the main organist’s (Richard Elliot) son in in my district!  He is super brilliant.  He refuses to ever speak English, so we always remind his companions how lucky they are to have a bendi (native – 本地) companion haha.  And it was awesome to hear that Kim B. Clark is going to be set apart as a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy!  He was President of BYU-Idaho when I was there.  And Giff Nielson gave the opening prayer!  Whaaat?  J

Here is my letter to President Day!

Dear President Day,

This week was a week of miracles!

One of my personal goals that I’ve set for this transfers is to start fasting for specific things.  The first day of the transfer, I decided to fast for Sister Huang and I to find more investigators since our teaching pool is very small.  I focused on Chapter 9 of Preach My Gospel that morning for personal study, and I received so much revelation on how to find more efficiently!  While we were on our way to a member’s home the day of my fast, Sister Huang (being the brilliant missionary that she is), felt as though we need to let the member know that we would be a little late, because we drove past a street in which the Holy Ghost prompted her that we needed to knock there.  The very first door we knocked on, BOOM.  New investigator.  The second door we knocked on, BOOM.  New investigator.  The blessings of the fast are real!

My next goal is to fast for better use of the Book of Mormon in street contacting.  I really want to focus on our Zone Vision this month, by using the Book of Mormon as our main source of converting power.  I know using the Book of Mormon in lessons is super effective, and reading the word of God rather than listening to missionaries will help investigators gain the testimony that we need them to gain, that Heavenly Father needs them to gain.  I AM SO PUMPED FOR THIS NEXT WEEK!

I hope you and Sister Day are doing well!  Thank you for all of the sacrifices that y’all have made for us!  Sister Huang and I love y’all both!

Love,

Sister Good

I can’t believe that Alan is back home!  I remember when I left dance practice early to say by to him at the airport two years ago, and I got stuck in traffic for 3 hours.  What a day!  Just think, that’s going to be me in almost exactly a year!  But I don’t want to think about that haha.

I believe that is all I have for today, love y’all!

We always have to take a FamilyMart ice cream selfie!

We always have to take a FamilyMart ice cream selfie!

Our Zone!  Richard Elliot's son is the one standing behind me, fourth one from the right!  He's in my district, serving the the Taidong 3rd Branch

Our Zone! Richard Elliot’s son is the one standing behind me, fourth one from the right! He’s in my district, serving the the Taidong 3rd Branch

Sister Tan and I!  She's one of my STLs, serving in Hualien!

Sister Tan and I! She’s one of my STLs, serving in Hualien!

At the Hualien train station!

At the Hualien train station!

Dad look it's the ice cream you told me to try!  It was soooo good!

Dad look it’s the ice cream you told me to try! It was soooo good!

image006

I just HAD to take a picture of this haha.

I just HAD to take a picture of this haha.

And look how sweet Sister Huang is...she bought me guaiguai!!

And look how sweet Sister Huang is…she bought me guaiguai!!

Leave a Reply

