Week 32 – Happy Mother’s Day!

Hey Y’all!

Happy Mother’s Day!  Mom, Dad, Rebekkah, Alexis, it was soooo great to skype y’all!  I missed y’all so much!

This Saturday was so hectic.  We got a call from one of our members to help her out with a presentation on health to a group of elderly from the YuanZhuMing (Aborigines 原住民) tribe in Taiwan.  The plan was she was going to give a 45 minutes presentation on “YangShen” ( 养生,some form of meditation that makes you think you are being healthy) and we would give a 15 minutes presentation about the Word of Wisdom.  But then Saturday morning, we get a call from her saying that she wouldn’t be able to make it because she was going to go hang out with our District President and President Day.  So…Sister Huang and I were freaking out because we had no knowledge about this “YangShen” (养生)thing.  BUT thank goodness for Sister Lai (our Branch President’s wife) because she comes from the YuanZhuMing (Aborigines 原住民)  tribe.  She came out and helped us, and we called the Zone Leaders who happened to be on exchanged with the APs so come with us as well.  It ended up being super fun!  They sang lots of tribunal songs and it sounded super pretty.  When we went and introduced ourselves, they were completely amazed with the fact that we were Americans.  They kept shouting to me and Elder Stewart if we wanted to marry one of their grandkids haha.  Then when we all said that we were 20 years old, they cheered.  Just because we were 20.  ‘Twas a blast.  We ended up giving a Word of Wisdom pamphlet and a flyer to our Free English Class to everyone, and we passed out 8 Books of Mormon.  Planting seeds!  🙂

As you know, we’ve been focusing on strengthening the members in Taidong.  At Zone Meeting Tuesday, Elder Chand and Elder Taulepa said President Day was not happy about how low our stats were this past month for the whole mission.  President Day shared a story about how his 18 year old song wrecked his car one winter.  He want to see the damage of the car, saw his son, hugged him, and said “I love you more than that car.” The Taipei mission is the “wrecked car” and us missionaries represent his son.  He loves us more than the mission, but someone has to fix it.

This experience shared left me inspired, but it’s stressing me out at the same time.  Inspired, because I want to do all that I can to fix this wrecked car.  Stressed because I fell like it doesn’t matter  how hard I work, I feel like I will not be able to meet the Standard of Excellence.  Even it we get 15 plus lessons per week, even if we get one baptism a month, even if we spend 10 hours a week knocking on doors or street contacting, I feel like it will never be enough.  Needless to say, after Zone Meeting, I felt completely inadequate.  But then, I read a quote by Elder Anthony D. Perkins, of the Seventy:

“When you feel overwhelmed by expectations and challenges, do not fight the battle alone.  Follow the example of small children, and drop to your knees in prayer.  Jesus Christ has commanded us, ‘Look unto me in every thought; doubt not, fear not.’ Doubt, fear, and worry indicate we have taken all of life’s burdens and anxieties on ourselves.  When plagued by thoughts that you are inadequate, confidently say, ‘I can do all things though Christ which strengtheneth me.’ Then as you ‘cheerfully do all things that lie in [your] power,’ you can rest assured that the Lord will do the remainder and things will work out all right.'” From what Elder Perkins had to say, I know that if I do my best, the Lord will make up the rest.

Elder Chand and Elder Taulepa had us write the challenges we face as missionaries an a sticky note and had us stick it to a cardboard folder.  Then, they gave us a huge knife and told us to stab the folder all the way through.  We each took a turn, stabbing the folder, trying to “get rid” of our challenges.  After we each had a turn, Elder Chand opened up the folder, and taped inside was a picture of Jesus, with the stab marks that we made.  Every hardship we face, every single moment of despair, EVERY trial we go through, Jesus has felt it.  Not only did he feel it, it took it from us.  He got stabbed, so we didn’t have to.  It was hard looking at that picture of Jesus after we had stabbed him.  It made it completely real to me that every time I sin, it hurts my Savior.

I am so grateful for Him.  I know that it’s because he loves us so much, more than anything, that he is willing to take every single one of our arrows.

Have a good week!  Love y’all so much!

We went on a hike up the mountain last P-day!

We went on a hike up the mountain last P-day!

image002

image003

image004

We brought a guitar and I started playing hymns on it while everyone sang along!

We brought a guitar and I started playing hymns on it while everyone sang along!

image006

I got some burnt bamboo ice cream...it was sooooo good!

I got some burnt bamboo ice cream…it was sooooo good!

The Yuan Zhu Min (Aborigines 原住民) tribe of Taiwan

The Yuan Zhu Min (Aborigines 原住民) tribe of Taiwan

image009

image010

Sister Huang and I decided to me models and try to sell the corn behind us haha

Sister Huang and I decided to me models and try to sell the corn behind us haha

Our branch "Curry Contest"

Our branch “Curry Contest”

image013

Sister Chan and I!

Sister Chan and I!

Our Zone Leaders and APs dancing along with the Yuan Zhu Ming Tribe (Aborigines 原住民)!

Our Zone Leaders and APs dancing along with the Yuan Zhu Ming Tribe (Aborigines 原住民)!

image016

image017

image018

image019

image020

The second counselor in our branch was made "nuomi" (糯米sticky rice) for the curry contest, and it was sooooo good!

The second counselor in our branch was made “nuomi” (糯米sticky rice) for the curry contest, and it was sooooo good!

image022

This is where Lin DX (2nd Counselor) and his family live.

This is where Lin DX (2nd Counselor) and his family live.

image024

More Curry Contest pictures!

More Curry Contest pictures!

image026

Leave a Reply

