Week 35 – Eight Month Mark

Hey Everyone!

Today is my 8 month mark of me being on the mission!  Time has gone by so fast!  Fun Fact: Exactly a year ago, June 1st, 2014, I officially turned in my mission papers to Salt Lake.  WHAT IS LIFE.  10 months to go!

It was raining a lot in Taoyuan at the beginning of the week…So Sister Lin and I had to wear raincoats and we looked like blue trash bags riding our bikes.  Whatever it takes to preach the gospel!  And because it’s the rainy season in Taiwan, it’s always super cloudy (or maybe it’s because of pollution?), either way, I can’t get my summer tan!

I got a call from the APs, and they gave me a calling to be our District’s English leader!  Basically I now have the responsibility to run the meeting before English class on Wednesdays and take lead in planning the English Class party we have every transfer.  Fun stuff!

So…mom and dad came to visit yesterday.  I was not expecting them to come at all, but when I saw them I started crying because I’m a baby.  It was awesome though, and seeing them felt like I never left their side because it was so casual and normal being around them!  We then went to the hospital to see my grandma, and met a lot of my mom’s family who I haven’t seen in 9 years.  It was awesome!  But now it’s back to work!!!!

Dear President Day,

   This week was a week full of miracles!  First off, thank you so much for granting my parents permission to take me to see my grandma in the hospital.  It was great seeing them, and I am surprised on how focused I still am on the work!  In fact, I gave each of my mom’s siblings our flyers, and gave them a rundown of why I’m out here in Taiwan!

   Miracles:  Our awesome investigator, Lin DX, loves watchingmormon.org videos on YouTube.  He’s getting baptized on the 13th!  We showed him what a temple recommend looks like and he really really wants one!  He’s awesome!

   Sunday night, Sister Lin and I went contacting.  In one hour, we had 3 other lessons, gave out two Books of Mormon, and got 4 new investigators.  One of them is a Yan DX.  He said he has talked to missionaries a couple of times, but he’s never said a prayer.  When we said a prayer with him, tears filled his eyes.  It was the biggest miracle of the night.  He kept repeating over and over again “Ganxie nimen, ganxie nimen”.  He is so prepared to receive the restored gospel.  We have an appointment with him Tuesday night!  I am so excited to meet with him again!

   I can’t wait for Zone Conference this Friday!  It’ll be so great!

  We be cool wearing our rain gear!  (But Dad thinks they look like hazmat uniforms!)


We be cool wearing our rain gear! (But Dad thinks they look like hazmat uniforms!)

image002

Seeing Grandma and some relatives at the hospital…

Seeing Grandma and some relatives at the hospital…

Mom, Aunties and Michelle

Mom, Aunties and Michelle

La American Familia

La American Familia

image026

Grandma, Auntie Chen, and me

Grandma, Auntie Chen, and me

Auntie Chen and Cousins

Auntie Chen and Cousins

Familia!

Familia!

Heaven’s Angels!

Heaven’s Angels!

image031

image032

Leave a Reply

