Week 44 – Charity Never Faileth

你們好!

你們看得懂嗎?哈哈應該沒有。好,我會用英文來告訴你們這個禮拜過得怎麽樣…

[Translation by Dad:

How are you!

Do you all understand this?  Haha Probably not.  OK, I’ll use English to tell you how my week went…

Comment from Dad:  Her Chinese is getting pretty good I might say!]

HEY Y’ALL!

Yesterday was AMAZING!  We had 8 investigators at church!  It was a total miracle!  However, we have ZERO baptismal date investigators.  Unfortunately, Larry told us that he is not ready to be baptized.  He is willing to obey EVERY single commandment, but he said he may not be able to obey the Law of Chastity in same-sex relationships.  When we talk about the blessing of exaltation and the Celestial Kingdom, Larry tells us that he doesn’t have a desire to go the the Celestial Kingdom.  I realized it’s because he has this same-sex attraction, that he doesn’t want a family, therefore diminishing his desire to enter the Celestial Kingdom.  Sister Lin and I have studying like crazy for him and just this morning I read an amazing talk by Elder D. Todd Christofferson called “Why Marriage, Why Family” from the April 2015 Conference.  We are planning on inviting him to read it.  Right now, we want to focus on his relationship with Heavenly Father.  He did express to us that the best thing that happened to him this summer was meeting us, and he doesn’t want to stop coming to church or learning more about the gospel.  He is even going to go to 六福村 (LiuFuCun, a Taiwanese amusement park) with us next week for P-day!  He has such a strong testimony, but this is the only thing keeping him from making his first covenant with the Lord.

Dear President Jergensen,

I learned a very important lesson this week about using love in your service.  Lately, Sister Lin’s back and hip have really been hurting, and it really escalates when we are out proselyting.  She doesn’t feel like it’s bad enough to go see a doctor about it.  However, yesterday we had 3 hours of proselyting planned, and 30 minutes into the first hour, Sister Lin had to sit down and recover from her back pain.  I could tell that most of the pain was coming from the big bag of scriptures, pamphlets, and flyers that she has to carry around.  I saw that she was really struggling, and despite the fact that I had the same amount of books and flyers in my bag, I grabbed her bag and carried it for the rest of the 2 1/2 hours of tracting.  Sister Lin wanted me to give her bag back, fearing that it would be too heavy for me to carry, but I told her I was perfectly fine carrying her bag for her.  Oddly enough, I didn’t feel the heaviness of her bag on my shoulders in addition to my own bag.  I then came to the realization that because of my love for Sister Lin, the heaviness of her bag had no effect on me.  The companionship love was enough for me to work for the next 2 1/2 hours even with the extra burden.  Even though it wasn’t easy, I still got through it.

This experience made me think of the Savior and his Atonement.  Christ literally took our burdens away from us and put it on his own shoulders.  As he suffered in the Garden of Gethsemane for us, the thing that kept him going was his LOVE for us, and his LOVE for our Heavenly Father.  Only he could have done this great deed, because he had Charity, or the PURE love of Christ.  Because of His Charity, he was able to suffer for us, and give us the opportunity to repent.

I have learned SO much about Charity this transfer, and I have learned so much from Sister Lin.  As missionaries, we need to use love in our proselyting.  Once we remember how much we love the people in our area, the burden or rejection, the beating sun, and our heavy bags will be lightened, because of the Atonement of Jesus Christ.  Because of Love.

Thank you so much for all that you have done for us, President Jergensen!  我跟林姐妹很愛你和你的家庭!謝謝你們的服務![Sister Lin and I love you and your family!  Thanks for your service!]

Love,

Sister Good

顧姐妹

Pictures Below!!

Went Ice Skating on P-day and ran into the Beitou sisters!  And guess who was with them!  Sister Zhang!  Sister Lin’s duanchuan companion from last month!!

Week 44-01

Me and Sister Sagisi!

Week 44-02

Sister Lin never ice skated before…and as her companion I had this obligation.  THIS IS WHAT COMP UNITY LOOKS LIKE!!!

Week 44-03

Sister Zhang!!

Week 44-04

Taoyuan 1st and Taoyuan 2nd district.  Otherwise known as THE District.

Week 44-05

Week 44-06

FHE at Sister Ma’s house last night!!

Week 44-07

Leave a Reply

