Week 55 – Miracles While Finding! – 19 October, 2015

Hey y’all!

This past week, I have been extremely inspired by General Conference.  One of the members in our ward, Derek, downloaded all of the Conference talks on my USB so I could listen to them when I am getting ready for the day or when I am preparing for bed.  I have never considered doing that ever in my life, just because it seemed so boring listening to old people talking to you, instead of fun music.  However, I decided to try it out and WOW it is the best thing ever!  It is so great to hear the prophets and apostles speak over and over again.   The scriptures are full of infinite knowledge and information from Heavenly Father, and so are the prophets and apostles!  While I was listening to their talks again, it just reminded me of the feelings and impressions that I received from Conference last week.  It’s much different than reading it in the Liahona/Ensign, because you don’t just listen to what they say, but you FEEL what they say.  You feel the spirit and it is a constant reminder that if you follow the counsel of the living prophets and apostles, you will be able to receive so many blessings.  It’s my new thing now.  I am totally encouraging y’all to download these talks and listen to them in place of music every once in a while!

This week I wanted to reserve a part in my email in honor of Sister Ioane.  I love my fun-loving, optimistic, Tuvaluan companion.  Here are a few things that she did this week/does daily that make me laugh:

  1. She drank coke for breakfast because she really wanted to “burp out the bubbles in [her] stomach”.  It was a very funny personal study that morning!!
  2. During exercise time one morning, she took a piece of grass from outside and said “Sister, come.  Let me clean out your eyes.  Trust me, it works!” I don’t know why I said yes, but it felt SO WEIRD and tickly!   And I don’t even know how she did it, but I guess it’s a Tuvalu thing?  It was an experience haha.
  3. BELTS out her Tuvaluan songs.  And they seriously sound so pretty even though I have no idea what she is singing, but it is so cool to hear her songs!  She says a lot of them are about Bible stories.  Lots of the have chants and sound like tongue twisters.
  4. She likes to eat with her hands.  She ate spam and rice with her hands (Spam is her favorite food) and I told her that we have forks in the kitchen.  “No, it tastes better when I eat with my hands.” She is so real.

Sister Ioane is just so great and I love her so much and we have so much fun doing missionary work!  My favorite thing is when Sister Ioane are finding and we ring a doorbell that plays a song (doorbells in Taiwan don’t sing “ding dong” – they either make a buzzing noise or play a song) we start dancing until the song is over.  Then we laugh about it, and continue finding!

Speaking of finding, we saw SO many miracles this week!  Sister Ioane and I set a goal that we would do a better job of finding prepared souls, setting baptismal dates on the street, and getting more new investigators.  I was going through a letter that was written to me from the MTC this week and found a list of scriptures.  I chose the very last one that was listed and turned to it.  It was Moses 6:32-34:

  1. And the Lord said unto Enoch:  Go forth and do as I have commanded thee, and no man shall pierce thee.  Open thy mouth, and it shall be filled, and I will give thee utterance, for all flesh is in my hands, and I will do as seemeth me good.

33 Say unto this people:  Choose ye this day, to serve the Lord God who made you.

34 Behold my Spirit is upon you, wherefore all thy words will I justify; and the mountains shall flee before you, and the rivers shall turn from their course; and thou shalt abide in me, and I in you; therefore walk with me.

This is the scripture that I chose to “Ponderize” this week, (See Elder Durrant’s talk in GC, of the Sunday School Presidency).  I was reminded of the importance of opening your mouth and preaching the gospel.  In preach my gospel, we are counseled to talk to EVERYONE.  Because every single person on this earth is a precious child of God, who deserves to hear the message we have to share.  Many will reject, and many will accept.  It is our responsibility to give them that chance to exercise their agency!  Because of this scripture, we were able to have 11 other lessons this week, and 5 new investigators.  That is 11 souls that had the opportunity to speak to their Heavenly Father through prayer this week!

I hope y’all have a great week!  Love y’all so much!

Sister Good

顧姐妹

Pictures Below!

We went hiking with the Elders and their investigator, Sister Li last P-Day!

5501

5502.

Look!  You can see the airplane leaving Taiwan!

5503

5504

5505

5506

Went on exchanges with Sister Walker this week to Nankan!

5507

Elder Michaelis and Elder Reintjes “pottering”.  They are awesome.

5508

5509

5510

5511

There was some sort of parade going on for a few days in Taoyuan.  I’m not sure what it was for, but it was very noisy and blocked a lot of main roads in our area.  BUT that didn’t stop us from taking pictures with the Buddhist God thingys!

5512

5513

5514

5515

5516

KFC delivers in Taiwan.  But I don’t understand how Asians are still super skinny compared to Americans!  Haha!

5517

Mingqian Chen!  I love her so much!  She’s preparing to serve a mission and helps us with our lessons by sharing her testimony.  I had to snap a picture because we were both wearing yellow skirts!  🙂

5518

Leave a Reply

