Week 59 – Miracles in Taipei – November 16, 2015

Hey y’all!

I LOVE my new area! Sister Sorenson and I have been seeing so many miracles this week! We are really working well together as a companionship, and I have been learning so much from her. She is extremely kind and patient, and super tender and sweet when she preaches the gospel. I feel like that is what I need, because I feel like I’m that missionary that just shouts about how much I love the gospel…

I went on exchanges with Sister Guo this week, so I could receive training on how to be a sister training leader (STLs are basically the female versions of Zone Leaders, but we focus more on the sisters in our zone rather than every companionship in the zone. So the zone leaders are a lot more xinku (幸苦 have a lot more on their plate) than us.) Sister Guo and Sister Kunzler are the Temple Sisters (equivalent to the Assistants, but like STLs, mainly care just for the sisters). Sister Guo is an amazing missionary, and I learned a lot about my new calling as an STL. She is literally the sweetest ever, and her voice sounds like it would belong to a pink teddy bear (just use your imagination haha super high pitched and adorable). She gave me lots of really good advice on how to conduct exchanges, and how to evaluate the exchange afterwards, like who goals we should set with the sisters and whatnot. Sister Sorenson will be going on our first exchange with the sisters in our zone this week and I am super excited for that!

FINDING MIRACLES

Sister Sorenson and I made a goal to invite more people to baptism on the street, and WOW we have seen MIRACLES!!!!! There are so many different people that I want to share with you but I will pick two to share today….

While I was on exchanges with Sister Guo in Jinhua, Sister Kunzler took my place in Xinyi with Sister Sorenson. They were out on the streets contacting and found a girl, Sister Chen, to talk to. Halfway through their conversation, there was a lady that went up to them and asked “Are y’all Christian?”, where of course the sister missionaries said, “Yes we are!” Sister Kunzler and Sister Sorenson ended up talking more to her, Kimi is her name, and set a baptismal date with her for Dec. 19th! A few days later, I was back with Sister Sorenson and I met Kimi for the first time. She’s in her late 30s, but owns a beauty stop and doesn’t look old at all. She opened up to us and told her that her mom is very traditional Buddhist, but her dad didn’t have a religion that he followed. She was very close to her dad for this reason because she never really liked to baibai (拜拜 Buddhist worship). She had been taking care of her dad and just last month he passed away because of his old age. She got really emotional when she shared her story, and Sister Sorenson and I jumped right into the Plan of Salvation. She said she would come to church yesterday, but didn’t show up. But we will be meeting with her this week and helping her ‘Come Unto Christ’ and hopefully she will have the desire to continue to work with us!

Friday morning, Sister Sorenson and I planned to contact for about 45 minutes before lunch. I was just not in a mood of contacting, and even though we prayed for the spirit to guide us, I couldn’t feel any guidance. As we contacted, we were just getting shot down by everyone that we talked to. After about 30 minutes, I couldn’t take it anymore so I said to Sister Sorenson, “Can we say a prayer again?”. After we prayed, I still couldn’t really feel any guidance. We turned a corner and I said hi to this one girl, and she was a bit surprised that two Americans started talking to her. It was super funny because the expression on her face was surprised, and she was carrying a whole bunch of ramen noodles. Her name is Aha (yeah, idk) and she is super sweet! We taught her how to pray and set a baptismal date with her as well. We’ll be meeting with her this week as well! But I thought how interesting that was how I was losing faith that morning. Then I was reminded of Ether 12:6.

  1. And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.

There are so many miracles and blessings that the Lord has in store for us, but WE MUST ACT. That way we show our faith, and then will the Lord manifest the blessings unto us! There is a quote from Dieter F. Uchtdorf that goes something like …”When our wagon gets stuck in the mud, Heavenly Father will much more likely help the man who gets out an pushed rather than the man who prays, sisters there and does nothing.” (I paraphrased). And it is SO TRUE! Our most progressing investigator learned that this week!

Jim Lin!! He is a GOLDEN! He is progressing so well…he goes to our institute every week, comes to all of the church activities, prays and reads the Book of Mormon everyday…etc. Sister Sorenson asked him yesterday, if he could go anywhere, where would he go? She was expecting an answer like Italy, or New York, or something. But he reply was: The Celestial Kingdom! RIGHT?? But the biggest issue is he can’t come to church because of work. We emphasized the Sabbath Day with him this week and invited him to pray that he could find a way to partake of the sacrament every week from now on. He accepted the invitation and prayed that he could go to church right before work on Sunday. He was so surprised how easily his boss said, “yeah sure you can get off work early to go to church.” ETHER 12:6!! He prayed, he acted, and he was able to partake of the sacrament for the first time ever! THE GOSPEL IS TRUEEEEEEE!

Love y’all!

 

Sister Good

顧姐妹

 

 

Sister Sorenson and I eating the famous zhuabings (抓餅) from Yong Kang Street (永康街) while waiting for Coco’s Bubble Drink!

Week 59-01

Sister Gabbitas and her companion joined us for district meeting this week! (They are serving in Neihu!)

Week 59-02

A map of where all the sisters are serving in the Taipei mission in the Temple Sister’s apartment!

Week 59-03

Central Zone!

Week 59-04

Breakfast that Sister Guo made me! I LOVE HER.

Week 59-05

This is where I LIVE!! And preach the gospel at! A picture of Sister Sorenson waiting at a stoplight with Taipei 101 in the background!

Week 59-06

A member qing’d (invited or ‘請ed’) us to eat Cozi Burger…I HAVEN’T HAD A BURGER SINCE AMERICA. It was sooooo good!

Week 59-07

My poor companion was sick this week 😦

Week 59-08

Week 59-09

Leave a Reply

