Week 80 – Conference Weekend! – 11-April-2016

Hey y’all!

THIS WEEK WAS AMAZING.  ONLY BECAUSE IT WAS GENERAL CONFERENCE.  Seriously nothing gets better than sitting in church for 12 hours watching God’s servants telling us what to do.  I absolutely LOVED General Conference this time around.  I especially loved how much of a comic President Uchtdorf was!  I’m convinced that the ‘celestial language’ he was talking about is Mandarin Chinese!

MIRACLE:  ZHANG HONG ZHI PASSED HIS BAPTISMAL INTERVIEW!  We were SO worried because he has been having a really hard time quitting smoking.  But I put my faith in the Lord that he would help Brother Zhang be baptized on April 16th.  I didn’t just believe that He could make it happen, but I believed the He WOULD make it happen.  If sending him daily reminders to not smoke and fasting and praying that he would overcome this temptation wouldn’t be enough, I knew that obedience would.  I knew that what it states in Doctrine and Covenants 130 is true:

There is a law, irrevocably decreed in heaven before the foundations of this world, upon which all blessings are predicated—

And when we obtain any blessing from God, it is by obedience to that law upon which it is predicated.

Blessings ONLY come through obedience.  And that is a FACT!

Funny story of the week:  Sister Davis and I were doing opening exercises for comp study one morning, and we recited “Remember This” from the very back cover of Preach My Gospel.  The very last thing it says it “Love the Lord the very best you can.” And since we do it every morning, it gets really old (not the loving the Lord part, but the reciting it repeatedly part).  So I like to throw in some fun accents as we read from the White Handbook and state Our Purpose.  After we were done, I said “My Lord” the way that Bellatrix Lestrange said it in the 7th Harry Potter movie, when she was referring it to Lord Voldemort.  We both started laughing then Sister Davis says “NO!  You’re not supposed to say it like that, because Lord Voldemort thinks he is the Lord, when the Lord is really Jesus Christ!”  I died laughing that morning.

I love Sister Davis so much.  I can’t even tell you HOW DIFFERENT we are.  As in like WHITE BLACK different.  But we totally work, and we get along SO well.  I think one of my favorite things about Sister Davis is when she prays, she has the biggest smile.  When she talks to her Heavenly Father, she smiles out from ear to ear.  Sometimes I like to crack my eyes open and look at her when she prays.  It is the cutest thing!

Sister Davis and I went to Yong He for exchanges with our Sister Training Leaders this week.  It was so fun getting to work with Sister Meyers.  For personal study, she asked me to study how to truly “feast upon the words of Christ.” I was thinking to how I’ve been studying the scriptures recently, and I have been spending a lot of time on each verse of scripture by studying the footnotes that come with the scripture.  I went back in 2 Nephi 32 and read verse 3:

  1. Angels speak by the power of the Holy Ghost; wherefore, they speak the words of Christ. Wherefore, I said unto you, feast upon the words of Christ; for behold, the words of Christ will tell you all things what ye should do.

I love the wording “feast upon the words of Christ”, and how it encourages us to really take time and STUDY the meaning of scriptures.  Feast doesn’t mean to just ‘read’ but it means to FEAST.  I noticed there was a footnote under the word “feast”.  That took me to 2 Nephi 31:13:

13. Wherefore, my beloved brethren, I know that if ye shall follow the Son, with full purpose of heart, acting no hypocrisy and no deception before God, but with real intent, repenting of your sins, witnessing unto the Father that ye are willing to take upon you the name of Christ, by baptism—yea, by following your Lord and your Savior down into the water, according to his word, behold, then shall ye receive the Holy Ghost; yea, then cometh the baptism of fire and of the Holy Ghost; and then can ye speak with the tongue of angels, and shout praises unto the Holy One of Israel.

This is what feasting really means.  If you only read and study the scriptures, all you are doing is licking the food the Heavenly Father has provided you.  He expects us to not only taste it, but to devour it!  We feast when we read, then study, then LIVE the scriptures.  We are to take upon ourselves the name of Christ.  Then are we able to FULLY comprehend the blessings that Heavenly Father has for us, then are our heart able to be FULL.

I testify that as we are obedient to God’s commandments, we are able to receive indescribable blessings.  And I know that as we TRULY FEAST upon the words of Christ by LIVING the words of Christ are we able to understand these indescribable blessings.  I know that God loves us, and I know that the celestial language is Mandarin Chinese 😉

Love,

Sister Good

 

顧姐妹

 

P.S.  SEE Y’ALL NEXT WEEK!

 

We hiked Xiang Shan last week!  AND LOOK WHO CAME WITH US!  JENSEN!

W80-01

W80-02

Elder Reintjes told me that his mom googled him last week and found him in my blog, so here’s a shout out to Elder Reintjes’s mama!

W80-03

W80-04

W80-05

W80-06

W80-07

Elder Ploeg photobombing me and Sister Davis’ picture!

W80-08

W80-09

Me trying to be cool

W80-10

Everyone that went on a hike with us!

W80-11

Me and Sister Hendrick’s last Zone Meeting!

W80-13

W80-12

I convinced Sister Davis to buy this backpack.  Best.  Decision.  Ever.

W80-14

Leave a Reply

